Journalism and Corrections: The Importance of Knowing When You’re Wrong

Aaron Ochs
3 min readOct 3, 2020

Recently, I had to make a significant correction on a Facebook post made on my personal profile. It wasn’t a column, but it was something that had to be swiftly addressed and resolved in any event. I formally apologized to the individual who was haphazardly mentioned in my post. I could’ve easily made my point without invoking their name and raising implications about their political opinions. This person also happens to be a personal friend.

Out of respect for them, I’m not going to re-litigate what the original post was about.

In a journalistic capacity, making mistakes aren’t good. In addition to negatively impacting a reporter’s personal and professional credibility, mistakes can have far-reaching ramifications for those who bear the brunt of them. Even if your mistake is a typo or some oversight that may seem insignificant at first glance, words matter and words have consequences. The only ethical option would be to address the mistake, make the correction, learn from it and become more adapt at making fewer mistakes. The best way to offset the damage done is to take these mistakes on before they fester and become a perilous situation.

The irony of this message is not lost on me.

--

--

Aaron Ochs

Author, artist, advocate and entrepreneur from Morro Bay, California.