The Blackburn Trash Behind “Lying in Trash”

Aaron Ochs
5 min readApr 11, 2020
Alan Blackburn, son of CalCoastNews co-founder Alan Blackburn

Some of the most popular questions I get about Defamers are about the various anonymous smear campaigns associated with CalCoastNews. Not often do you have an online tabloid being fervently supported by anonymous, radicalized accounts that pop out of nowhere to push their conspiracy theories. Sure, there are fans of the website, but not many of them spend days, weeks and even months cultivating online campaigns touting conspiracy theories their founders exclusively allege — and continue to allege to this day with reckless abandon.

Once every two months, I hear from musicians who are connected to CalCoastNews co-founder Daniel Blackburn’s son Alan. Like his father, Alan is a filmmaker and documentarian. Alan, a resident of Santa Cruz, is friends with a number of session musicians residing in Los Angeles and San Francisco. Every now and then, I’d hear from one of those musicians, most of whom I don’t know personally.

They would reach out to me because they were concerned about Alan’s “obsession” with me, with that obsession reportedly teetering between ambiguously threatening remarks and a desire to “expose” me as a key player in an elaborate conspiracy theory to take the website down. The younger Blackburn reportedly bragged about reporting me to unnamed law enforcement and that “justice was coming soon.” That’s a lot of hearsay that’s…

--

--

Aaron Ochs

Author, artist, advocate and entrepreneur from Morro Bay, California.